			Meeting Minut	es of the Academic Senate					
			9	rossmont College					
	10/19/2020								
			11:0	00 AM – 12:20 PM					
		<del>,</del>							
Ι		CALL TO ORDER	CALL TO ORDER:11:00am						
	A.	Public Comment		this is a historic election, he strongly urges everyone to lents to get out and vote. Make it a personal experience.					
	B.	Motion to approve	e the Agenda	Approved					
1		T	9	No minutes were submitted. Will be voted on at next					
	C.	Approval of Minu	tes 10/5/20	meeting.					
TT		DDEGIDENMG P	EDODE						
II.		PRESIDENTS R	LPUKT						
	A.	Sabbatical reminders Sabbatical Applications are due <b>Tuesday</b> , <b>November 3</b> , <b>2020 at 5:00 pm</b> . That is a hard deadline. You must have taken a workshop on Sabbaticals to be considered. If you did not att one of the workshops, please contact Denise and she can do a one on one instruction.							
	В.	Nominating for the next academic Senate is open now. Denise shared the timeline of the election process. You have until October 29, 2020 to submit your nomination. Candidates should submit written statement to the Senate Vice President ( <a href="mailto:steve.davis@gcccd.edu">steve.davis@gcccd.edu</a> ) by noon on November 2 which will be placed on the AS website and attached to ballots, and will be given an opportunity to speak on the Nov 16, 2020 AS meeting. Voting opens on November 16, 2020 at 12:00 pm. Voting will close on Thursday, December 3, 2020 at 11:59pm. The Senate Vice President will announce our new Senate President on December 7, 2020. Steve Davis still needs another							
	C.	volunteer to help with the voting process. Cindi Harris and Lara Braff.  Screening and interview committee for next GC President (see handout)  The administrative procedure was shared. The Academic Senate President or designee is the chair of this committee, and there will be two additional faculty members on the committee, one from the instructional side and one from student services. We have already had several volunteers. If you have submitted your interest but are not invited to serve on the committee please know that this is not personal, but rather the Senate Officers making the best recommendation to serve on this committee. Please be detailed on your submission.							
	D.	Debrief of October 13 Governing Board meeting  Denise read the resolution that was passed at the last Academic Senate Meeting to the Governing Board. Denise added some comment to contextualize the resolution. The college support Rapid Response Teams is to be named the Virtual Innovation Group. On Wednesday morning a call was sent to faculty representatives to serve on that college support rapid response team as well as the district IT. The deadline for volunteers is today. Denise noted that the Governing Board is not required to respond to Senate resolutions.							
	E								
F. Miscellaneous									

l for ive ports istrict hight odate  to do hbers
nbers
nbers
nbers
nbers
es, also
ia quity y are stions se our culum. from where nt
enate

	A	Anti-Racisi	m Resolution Hurvitz-Quezada-Sampson	
		There were no objections of bringing this to a vote.		
		Yes votes: 51 yes No votes: none		
		Resolution	on was passed.	
Meeti	Meeting Adjourned		12:20pm	
Next	Next Meeting		November 3, 2020	

## Attendees

Please enter first and last	Senate Title	Please enter your department
Denise Schulmeyer	Senate President	Communication
Dee Aceves	Senate Officer	Counseling
Liz Barrow	Senate Officer	CVTE
Steve Davis	Senate Officer	Math
Sébastien Cormier	Senate Officer	Physics
Richard unis	Senate Officer	sociology
Kyleb Wild	Part Time Senator	Behavioral Sciences, Anthropology
Claire K Liu	Part Time Senator	World Languages Department
Patrice Braswell	Senator	A.R.C.
Sharon Sampson	Senator	AOJ
Jamie Shatwell	Senator	ASL
jennifer carmean	Senator	ASL
Gregg Robinson	Senator	Behavioral Science
Israel Cardona-Gerena	Senator	Behavioral Sciences
Lara Braff	Senator	Behavioral Sciences
Michele Perchez	Senator	Bio
Bonnie Ripley	Senator	Biology
Mark Pressnall	Senator	BOT
Diana Vance	Senator	Chemistry and Science
Roxanne Tuscany	Senator	Communication
Victoria Curran	Senator	Communication
desmond morente	Senator	Counseling
Gary Johnson	Senator	Counseling
Karolia Macias	Senator	Counseling
Wendy Cruzado	Senator	Counseling
Sarah Moore	Senator	Counseling/Transfer Center
janet Gelb	Senator	CSIS/CE Coordinator
Patricia Chow	Senator	CTE- Business
David Mullen	Senator	Dance
Tim Cliffe	Senator	Earth Science
Judd Curran	Senator	Earth Sciences
Adam Deutsch	Senator	English
Cindi Harris	Senator	English
Sarah Martin	Senator	English
Tate Hurvitz	Senator	English
Randy Abshier	Senator	ES/HED/NUTR
Sara Ferguson	Senator	ESL
Angela Feres	Senator	History
Felicia Kalker	Senator	Library
Beth Smith	Senator	Math
Cierra Rawlings	Senator	Math
Shawn Hicks	Senator	Math

Dan Greenheck	Senator	Mathematics
Jeff Waller	Senator	Mathematics
Jeanette Calo	Senator	Media Communications
Eva Nicasio Mercier	Senator	MMIB
Derek Cannon	Senator	Music
Christine Vicino	Senator	Occupational Therapy Assistant
June Yang	Senator	PHIL and RELG
Elisabeth Burke	Senator	Philosophy and Religious Studies
Brodney Fitzgerald	Senator	Physics and Astronomy
Shahrokh Shahrokhi	Senator	Political Economy
Carey Flores	Senator	Respiratory Therapy
Peggy Wels	Senator	Respiratory Therapy
Brian Rickel	Senator	Theatre Arts
Kathleen Banville	Senator	Theatre Arts
Marion de Koning	Senator	Visual Arts and Humanities
Bill McGreevy	Guest	Administrative Services
Nancy Saks	Guest	AHN
Kelly menck	Guest	AOJ
Michelle Soltero	Guest	Child Development, Education and Family Studies
Michael McHan	Guest	Communication
Dave Dillon	Guest	Counseling
Natalie Ray	Guest	Counseling
Cindy Emerson	Guest	CPIE
Joan Ahrens	Guest	CPIE
scott therkalsen	Guest	Earth Sciences
Sam Rigby	Guest	EOPS
Michael Perez	Guest	EOPS/CARE/Next-Up
Daniel Craig	Guest	ESL
Nashona Andrade	Guest	HR
Cary Willard	Guest	Interim Dean MNSESW
Sonia Ghattas-Soliman	Guest	World Languages